Canadian New Media Awards (CNMA) 2010 establishes new Digital Media Woman of the Year award

By: Yasmin Ranade

September 17, 2010

This is the last day to vote for the Canadian New Media Awards (CNMA), the country’s only nationwide competition recognizing the accomplishments of Canada’s most successful digital media companies.

CNMA LogoFor its 10th year, the CNMA has established three new award categories: Digital Media Woman of the Year, Community Campaign of the Year and Digital Media Technology of the Year.

I am particularly pleased with the addition of the Digital Media Woman of the Year award. In my years as a technology marketer and publisher, and also in my volunteer roles with Wired Women and IABC, I have observed truly special talent by Canadian women in the interactive arena. What’s more, I am thrilled to have been asked to sit as a juror for this category.

The Digital Media Technology of the Year award recognizes the outstanding achievements of an emerging leader in the field of digital media who has contributed to the development of the digital media industry by creating amazing content and technological innovations that are grabbing the attention of users in Canada and abroad.

For the CNMA to be looking back 10 years is quite an accomplishment. I can remember its first few years and, already, here we are at its tenth. Recognizing Canada’s top interactive talent and campaigns has enabled some of our brightest marketers, producers and developers to shine while showcasing creative technical feats.

In addition to these new awards, the CNMA’s award categories include:

  • Company of the year
  • Promising new company of the year
  • Digtial media technology of  the year
  • Best in Canadian culture – Interactive
  • Best cross -platform project
  • Best  francophone website
  • Best online portal
  • Best kids  interactive
  • Best online program, series OR film
  • Best mobile application
  • Best web-based game
  • Best use of social media
  • Best online advertising
  • Best branded entertainment
  • Community campaign of the year
  • Producer of the year
  • Designer of the year
  • Executive of the year
  • Developer of the year

The awards are part of nextMEDIA Toronto, Canada’s leading digital media production and development marketplace. The CNMAs gala awards will be held December 1, 2010 at The Design Exchange in Toronto. 

The CNMA submission deadline is September 17th, 2010. Send in your vote.  For more information about this and other award categories, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *